Creating Custom Skills
While you cannot edit or delete the default skills and skill categories that come with the system, HandsOn Connect allows you to add new skills to the skill profiles used by volunteers and volunteer opportunities,
NOTE: As of Feb, 2020 it IS possible for our support staff to delete the default skills that come with the system, though doing so would mean you would lose any skill rating records associated with skills you no longer use.
Additionally - it's now possible for support to update your skill records, so that you can deactivate a skill, without deleting it. A deactivated skill will no longer appear on the public website.
If you need a skill deactivated, please open a support ticket and request the ability to deactivate existing skills.
Go to Control Panel / Skills Customization to create a new skill
3. Put in the name of the new skill
4. Select a category from the picklist (this list will include any custom categories you create as well)
5. Click Save.
The new skill will show up in the Custom Skills section
You can click on 'update' to change the name of the skill - or delete to delete the custom skill
When you click on update, you can edit the skill name or the category the skill has been placed in.
The ability to edit appears in the 'update skills' section of the page.
If you request to delete a skill you will get a warning
Note: If you delete a skill, all skill ratings (for volunteers and volunteer opportunities) associated with that skill will also be permanently deleted. There is no undo for this.
Add your comment