In this post we will show you how to delete records - but caution you that unless done with great care and understanding of the database -- you should NOT delete data.
NOTE: Deleting records, especially mass deletion of records, is not recommended.
See the next post to understand what can happen if records are deleted!
Salesforce does not archive data for you. If you delete it, it will eventually be permanently gone. And if there are related records that required the record you deleted - you will corrupt the other records :-(
The only way to archive data (in case you DO delete and regret it) is to export the data.
To learn how to set-up the auto-export, click here.
Delete Individual Records
These should only be used when you mistakenly created a volunteer opportunity, occurrence, contact, organization, etc..
DO NOT delete any record that has related objects associated with it.
For example if you delete an occurrence, then all the connections to that occurrence will be missing required information and be corrupted.
If you delete a volunteer opportunity, it will corrupt any related occurrences and/or connections. This data corruption may break system functionality on both the public and admin site.
Instead of deleting records -- mark them as inactive or cancelled. This will effectively pull them out of reports and keep them off the public site, while preserving their relationship to other related objects.
If you have created a duplicate contact or organization, utilize the merge option to correct the duplication.
Click here to see how to merge organizations.
If a record has been mistakenly deleted - it will be recoverable from the recyling bin for 15 days or until space isn't available
Salesforce does have a recycling bin for deleted records, unless you opted to Permanently Delete the records during the mass delete. .
See this post to see how to manage the Recycling Bin.
Add your comment