Creating a New Report Folder
In this lesson, we will learn how to create a new folder, set permissions for that folder, and how to edit permissions in existing folders.
After creating the folder, select the folder to set its characteristics
Selecting "Pin to top" will pin the folder at the top of your list of folders. This is handy for frequently used report folders!
Click on Share to set who can access the folder. (For existing folders, you can click on Share and modify who the folder is shared with). Only share folders with customer portal users if they need access to the folder in the portal. Be selective of which folders you share with partners and volunteer leaders. (Note: when they view the report, they will only see the records that they have permission to view -- so the same report will appear differently on the admin site, and to each customer portal user).
Note: If you do not see this option - see below in this post "Note: If you've not upgraded...." and update your settings!
Set who the folder is shared with:
By default, the folder is shared with a user, you, who created the report. Your access is Manager.
You can choose to look up users, roles, or other 'groups' of users by clicking on the "Share with" links. The 5 more options include "Roles and Internal Subordinates" "Public Groups" "Portal Roles" "Portal Roles and Subordinates" "Customer Portal Users". Each allows you to select from those lists.
To share with everyone on your staff (internal users), and/or to share with all customer portal users, select "Public Groups"
Click on the Share button next to the groups "All Internal Users" and/or "All Customer Portal Users" (if you wish to share in the partner and Volunteer Leader portals). OR, share a folder with just one public group, or one user. You can fine tune your sharing accordingly.
Then select the level of access for each group you share with.
- Viewers can only view reports (that's all that's possible for customer portal users)
- Editors can view and edit reports
- Managers have complete control over the report and can change sharing and/or delete reports.