What happens during opportunity signup?

The following processes happen automatically when a volunteer signs up or expresses interest in an opportunity on the public website:

The following occurs for the volunteer:

The following occurs for the volunteer:

• Their "My Account" page is updated and the new Volunteer Opportunity is listed in the Upcoming Opportunities section.  Their are links here to remove oneself from the opportunity, manage team sign-ups (if acting as team captain who signed up multiple team members), and the status of 'express interest' opportunities is reflected.  There are also indications if you are on the waitlist for an opportunity, and for confirmed opportunities, links to a webpage with full details on the location of the volunteer opportunity (address, special directions, and a google map from which you can get driving directions).

A confirmation email is sent to the volunteer with the Volunteer Opportunity details

A confirmation email is sent to the volunteer with the Volunteer Opportunity details

It includes a link to remove themselves if needed, and a link to a webpage where they can get complete location details including the full address, a google map they can get directions from, and any special instructions that are populated as part of the Location record associated with this occurrence.

Different confirmation emails are sent depending on the type of Volunteer Opportunity they have signed up for.  The example above is for a date and time specific opportunity with full signup.  It is managed by a partner organization.

There are different emails for each opportunity type, and different emails if the opportunity an affiliate-managed opportunity.

View of the Location Details webpage:

View of the Location Details webpage:

They receive a reminder of their sign up four days before the Volunteer Opportunity occurs.

They receive a reminder of their sign up four days before the Volunteer Opportunity occurs.

They receive a thank-you email and a request for feedback the day after they are scheduled to attend.

They receive a thank-you email and a request for feedback the day after they are scheduled to attend.

The following occurs on the administrative side

The Connections Grid is updated to show the new connection.

For Sign-Up opportunities - the connection automatically appears in the Confirmed Connections Section.

For Express Interest opportunities - the connect will appear in the pending/declined connections section.

The Opportunity Coordinator is sent a notification that a sign-up has occurred.

The Opportunity Coordinator is sent a notification that a sign-up has occurred.

For Individually Scheduled opportunities - a different email is sent to the Opportunity Coordinator

Email sent for Individually Scheduled Opportunity (ISO) with schedule:

For Express Interest and To Be Scheduled opportunities - a different email is sent to the Opportunity Coordinator

Email sent for Individually Scheduled Opportunity - Express Interest Only

For 'express interest' opportunities the opportunity coordinator receives email notification that they should log into their account and review the connection.  For Date and Time Specific Express Interest, and ISO - Express Interest with schedule, they should confirm or decline the connections and can contact the volunteer if necessary to reschedule.   For ISO - Express Interest Only - they do not have to take any actions since the purpose of this opportunity type is just to see who is interested.  They can contact volunteers, and can schedule them administratively if they desire.

The text of all these emails can be updated by your system administrator - to change the tone or messaging.  

2 Comments

Deanna Berg

Is it possible to turn off the notifications to opportunity coordinators? I've had several complaints regarding this, particularly related to "sign-up" opportunities.

Larry Deckel

It IS possible to turn off the notifications. The emails are sent out via workflow rules and email alerts. If you deactivate the workflow rule that sends the signup and/or removal notifications to opportunity coordinators, the emails won't be sent.

But keep in mind that no one will receive these. I imagine some people complain, but some opportunity coordinators might prefer to know how many volunteers they have signed up so that they don't have to continually log into the site to see how well their opportunity is reaching its minimum or maximum level.

Add your comment

E-Mail me when someone replies to this comment